I am… I am but the star dust that tumbles I am but the twig that snaps beneath your umbels…

Juicy by Anastasia Traina & Pam Widener

The Little Red Lighthouse by Ana Traina ~ 2010 ~

Here is one of my favorite excerpts from the screenplay, JUICY, that I wrote with Pam Widener! I don’t think I have ever had a better time writing!!

EXT. LITTLE RED LIGHTHOUSE – MAGIC HOUR
Ulysses stands on a rock near the river. He pulls an urn
out of the box from Carole’s closet.

He opens the urn, takes a moment to look inside. He
smells his father’s ashes, then scatters them in the
wind. He pauses for a moment, then takes a breath and
puts the lid back on the urn.

Ulysses turns around and walks back to the lighthouse to
join his friends, Izzy, Lulu and PETE (6 feet tall, red
hair and freckles, not a big talker). They’re drinking
Red Bulls and smoking a joint. Ulysses sits next to Izzy
and puts his head on her shoulder. Pete hands him the
joint.

IZZY
It’s so perfect here.

LULU
And the sky is freaking my freak, it’s so
awesome.

Pete nods.

LULU (CONT’D)
How’d you know about this place?

IZZY
(whispers)
His dad used to take him here.

Pete nods.

ULYSSES
When I was a kid I used to love this book
about a gray bridge and a little
lighthouse. I had no idea it was a real
place until my dad brought me here.

Pete nods in deep understanding.

LULU
Wow. It’s perfect. Wow.

Ulysses takes a long hit from the joint. He holds it for
a minute in contemplation. He exhales… laughs.

ULYSSES
My nana is going to be so pissed at me.

IZZY
She’s going to have to deal.

PETE
Mm mm mm…

They sit in silence for what seems to be a long time.

LULU
I just gotta tell somebody before I bust.

They all look at Lulu. Lulu looks at Ulysses.

LULU (CONT’D)
I’m like crushing on your uncle so badly.

Izzy bursts into laughter. Ulysses is horrified.

ULYSSES
He’s like fucking fat. I mean, he’s my
uncle but he’s–

LULU
No. He’s like, juicy. Yeah. Juicy.

Now Izzy’s grossed out. Pete is perplexed.

ULYSSES
What are you talking about?

LULU
I mean he’s like, juicy. I just want to
squeeze him. And he’s deep. It’s written
all in his eyes. His waters run deep.

Ulysses sighs.

ULYSSES
Damn Lulu. He’s way too old for you.

Pete nods vigorously. They drop off into silence for a
moment.

PETE
You know, I really liked your dad. …A
lot.

Pete nods at his own statement. Ulysses puts a hand on
his shoulder. Pete nods some more.

4 responses

  1. Lovely excerpt, Ana — I am really enjoying seeing the things you’ve written. 🙂 I love the photo, as well. Thank you for sharing!!! xoxo

    February 7, 2012 at 2:09 pm

  2. Beautiful photograph.

    Great excerpt from a screenplay below it. There is nothing sadder than losing a parent at an early age, You do a great job capturing the way some young people handle a horrible tragedy traveling to somewhere beautiful, and then bringing up some random, silly not quite appropriate subject, such as a crush on an uncle.

    This really shows the way that no one ever quite knows what to say to someone who just lost a parent,. This is especially true young people who might not have experience with death and dying. These characters are doing whatever they can to comfort their friend, even though they may not know what the “right thing” is.

    February 7, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    • Thank you dear Sarah, for all your pearls of wisdom! They are so right on!! It does so warm the heart when someone get what you are trying to do and say… you’re awesome!!!

      February 7, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

